Project Draft cattle

PROJECT DRAFT CATTLE

A social and ecological agricultural project

With the «Draft Cattle» project, we are developing a training program based on the traditional knowledge of migrants in handling draft cattle. We want to further develop this know-how in the context of ecological and social agriculture.

With this non-profit project, we are creating a niche job for long-term unemployed people who are difficult to place, under the responsibility of a social service. In addition, the training provides migrants who are obliged or willing to leave the country with a professional perspective in their country of origin by creating a feasible livelihood.



 

 

Trennlinie neu FAFAFA.png

Until the post-war period, draught cattle played an important role in Swiss agriculture. With industrialization, not only the old cattle breeds but also the traditional knowledge about draught cattle fell into oblivion. In less industrialized countries, however, they are still an important part of agriculture today.

At the international draft animal conference "Draft Animals in the Past, Present and Future", organized by the UNSESCO World Heritage Site Kloster Lorsch, our project was also documented. As part of the conference, an archive was created in which examples of work with draft animals in the 21st century were recorded as short video clips. It is presented by project manager Joana Ryser, Léon Bickel, head of FastRunner programs, and our cattle Elly and Milou.

Zugtiere Elly und Milou

Our Draft Cattle-Family: Elly & Milou

In December 2020 we bought our first cow of the Grey cattle breed Grauvieh), Elly. Shortly after, Elly gave birth to a baby calf, Milou.

Elly and Milou form the heart of our draft cattle project and will be trained by us to become a draft cow and a draft ox. Mother Elly started her training in January 2021, so that with her energetic support we will soon be able to harvest our first potatoes.

With the
organic farm Wingey we have found an ideal place for our animals. There they live with other cows in a herd, have a spacious free-range barn and plenty of access to pasture. The organic farm is also where the extensive training of our two cattle will take place. Extensive means that Elly and Milou are allowed to be mainly cow and ox, and only work as much as is healthy for them.

If you would like to contribute to the upkeep costs of our draft animals or volunteer, go
here.

Project Draft cattle

FÖRDERPROJEKT ZUGRINDER

Ein soziales und ökologisches Landwirtschaftsprojekt

Mit dem Projekt «Zugrinder» entwickeln wir ein Ausbildungsprogramm, das auf dem traditionellen Wissen von Migrantinnen und Migranten im Umgang mit Zugrindern beruht. Dieses Know-how wollen wir im Kontext einer ökologischen und sozialen Landwirtschaft weiterentwickeln.

Mit dem gemeinnützigen Projekt schaffen wir einen Nischenarbeitsplatz für schwer vermittelbare Langzeitarbeitslose in der Zuständigkeit eines Sozialdienstes. Ausserdem eröffnet die Ausbildung ausreisepflichtigen oder ausreisewilligen Migrantinnen und Migranten eine berufliche Perspektive in ihrem Herkunftsland, indem sie eine realisierbare Existenzgrundlage schafft.


 

 

Trennlinie neu FAFAFA.png

Bis in die Nachkriegszeit spielten Zugrinder im Landwirtschaftssystem der Schweiz eine wichtige Rolle. Mit der Industrialisierung gerieten neben den alten Rinderrassen auch das traditionelle Wissen um Zugrinder in Vergessenheit. In weniger industrialisierten Ländern hingegen sind sie noch heute ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Landwirtschaft.

An der internationalen Zugtierkonferenz «Draft Animals in the Past, Present and Future», die von der UNSESCO Welterbestätte Kloster Lorsch organisiert wird, wurde auch unser Förderprojekt  dokumentiert. Im Rahmen der Tagung wurde ein Archiv erstellt, in dem Beispiele von Arbeiten mit Zugtieren im 21. Jahrhundert als kurze Videoclips erfasst wurden. Vorgestellt wird es von Projektleiterin Joana Ryser, Léon Bickel, Leiter FastRunner-Programme, und unseren Rindern Elly und Milou.

Zugtiere Elly und Milou

Unsere Zugrinder-Familie: Elly & Milou

Im Dezember 2020 unsere erste Kuh der Rasse Grauvieh, Elly, gekauft. Kurz darauf hat Elly ein Kälbchen, den Muni Milou, zur Welt gebracht.

 

Elly und Milou bilden das Herzstück unseres Zugrinder-Projekts und werden von uns zur Zug-Kuh bzw. zum Zug-Ochsen ausgebildet. Mutter Elly hat ihre Ausbildung im Januar 2021 begonnen, damit wir mit ihrer tatkräftigen Unterstützung schon bald erste Kartoffeln ernten können.

Mit dem Biohof Wingey haben wir einen idealen Einstellplatz für unsere Tiere gefunden. Dort leben sie mit anderen Kühen in einer Herde, haben einen grosszügigen Freilaufstall und viel Weidegang. Auf dem Biohof wird auch die extensive Ausbildung unserer beiden Rinder stattfinden. Extensiv bedeutet, dass Elly und Milou hauptsächlich Kuh und Ochse sein dürfen, und nur soviel arbeiten, wie es für sie auch gesund ist.

Falls Sie zu den Unterhaltkosten unsere Zugrtiere beitragen oder sich ehrenamtlich engagieren möchten, geht's hier lang.